Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Gov's Volunteer Service Award Winners


PHOENIX –Governor Jan Brewer and the Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism have announced the winners of the 8th Annual Volunteer Service Awards. Ten recipients will be honored with the award, which is considered to be the highest volunteer award in the state.

The Volunteer Service Awards were established in 2002 to recognize and thank Arizonans who have given their time and talents to help solve social problems. The Commission received over 120 nominations from around the state. Each of the individuals and groups nominated for an award demonstrated exceptional service to communities throughout Arizona last year.

“Arizonans volunteer in big numbers and these Volunteer Service Award recipients exemplify some of the state’s best,” said Governor Brewer. “I strongly encourage everyone to consider volunteering. Whether you want to help mentor our youth, teach literacy to adults, provide support to those facing health issues, fight substance abuse or build community parks, we need you.”

A winner was selected in each of 10 categories. A panel of statewide judges selected the recipients based on need, action, innovation and impact. The winners will be honored at a luncheon hosted by the Governor’s Commission on Service and Volunteerism at the Phoenix Art Museum on April 29.

Sponsors of the Governor’s Volunteer Service Awards include SCF Arizona, US Airways, Comcast and a number of other businesses and organizations that are ardent supporters of service and volunteerism in Arizona.

The winners of the 8th Annual Governor’s Volunteer Service Awards are:

Youth Category
• Jacob Alexander Goldfeld (Scottsdale)
Youth Group Category
• ICAN Peer Leaders (Chandler)
Adult Category
• Barbara Blalock (Tempe)
Adult Group Category
• Tucson Autism Community Center (Tucson)
Large Business Category
•Intel (Chandler)
Small Business Category
• Law Office of D.L. Drain (Phoenix)
National Service Category
• Patrick Horrell (Cottonwood)
• Sun Sounds of Arizona (Tempe)
Lifetime Achievement
• Don Meyer (Wilcox)
Service-Learning Category
• Gus Percuoco (Winslow)

For more information about the Office of the Governor, please visit www.azgovernor.gov.

# # #
Full Release Here.

No comments: